About the James Fenimore Cooper Society

The James Fenimore Cooper Society is a friendly and informal group of students, scholars, and readers scattered around the globe and united by our common interest in appreciating the life, works, and ideas of James Fenimore Cooper (1789-1851) and his daughter Susan Fenimore Cooper (1813-1894).

It was founded September 15, 1989, by Hugh Cooke MacDougall, 1932-2021, who served as its Secretary/Treasurer and later as its Corresponding Secretary.


W.H. Bartlett, View of Northumberland (On the Susquehannah), 1839.


President Christopher Black



Vice-President Luis Iglesias



Corresponding Secretary Steven Harthorn



Executive Director for Membership Keat Murray



Executive Director of Publications Steven Harthorn



Advisory Board Stephen Carl Arch, Robert Daly, Wayne Franklin, Barbara Mann, Katherine Niven, Anna Scannavini, Lance Schachterle; Founder Hugh C. MacDougall (1932-2021)



Honorary Chairman Henry S. Fenimore Cooper, Jr. (1933-2016)


James Fenimore Cooper Society

c/o Department of English

SUNY Oneonta

322 Netzer Admin. Building

108 Ravine Parkway

Oneonta, NY 13820-2685


Jack DeLand